2013 IEEE Symposium on

CI for Creativity and Affective Computing (CICAC 2013)

Aim and Scope

Computational intelligence (CI) techniques, including neural network, fuzzy systems, and evolutionary computation, have shown to be effective for search and optimization problems. Recently, CI gained several promising results and becomes an important tool in Computational Creativity, such as in music, visual art, literature, architecture, and industrial design. The goal is to enhance autonomous creative systems as well as human creativity.

In addition, taking into account emotions (or more generally affects) is currently widely explored to improve the quality of human-machine interaction and to ease the communication with users or potential customers. Affective or emotional computing covers a wide range of issues, challenges and approaches, both for emotion simulation (in particular for new generations of intelligent agents), emotion elicitation, expression and recognition. The latter is declined along several types of modalities and media data, such as physiological signals, facial expressions, speech, text, images and video. Each of these modalities and media raises specific requirements. Thus, affective computing raises new challenges for computational intelligence, regarding e.g. computational representations of emotions and affective states, on the basis of psychological models, the architecture of systems modeling and processing these concepts as well as dedicated machine learning techniques appropriate to deal with the specificity of the related data.

The aim of this Symposium is to reflect the most recent advances of CI in Computational Creativity and Affective Computing. This Symposium will allow researchers to share experiences and present their new ways for taking advantage of CI techniques in Creativity and Affective Computing.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, CI technologies in the following aspects:

  • Computational Intelligence for Creativity
    • Computational modelling of creativity and creative processes
    • Data representations for creative systems
    • Algorithmic design in creative intelligence
    • Optimisation in creativity
    • Development of hardware and software for creative systems
    • Evaluation methodologies
    • Assistance of human creativity
    • Computational aesthetics
    • Emotion response
    • Human-machine creativity
    • Generation of art, including Music, Visual Art, Literature, Architecture and Design, etc.
  • Computational Intelligence for Affective Computing
    • Theories of emotions from psychology and their application to computer sciences
    • Computational models and architecture for processing emotions and other affective states
    • Multimodal emotional corpora
    • Automatic emotion recognition from physiological signals, facial expressions, body language, speech
    • Emotion mining in texts, images, videos, film, multimedia data
    • Affective interaction with virtual agents and robots

Paper Submission

Prospective authors are invited to contribute their papers to Symposium on Computational Intelligence for Creativity. All papers are to be submitted electronically through the IEEE SSCI 2013 main website http://www.ieee-ssci.org/.

Symposium Co-Chairs

Chuan-Kang Ting, National Chung Cheng University, Taiwan

Marie-Jeanne Lesot, LIP6 - UPMC, France

Francisco Fernández de Vega, University of Extremadura, Spain

Jean-Claude Martin, LIMSI, France

Palle Dahlstedt, University of Gothenburg, Sweden

Maria Rifqi, LIP6 - Paris II, France

Program Committee

Peter Bentley, University College London, UK
Jonathan Chan, King Mongkut's University of Technology Thonburi, Thailand
Roberto De Prisco, Università di Salerno, Italy
Alan Dorin, Monash University, Australia
Carlos Fernandes, Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal
Yaochu Jin, University of Surrey, UK
Anna Jordanous, King's College London, UK
Oliver Kramer, Carl von Ossietzky Universität, Germany
Ruli Manurung, University of Indonesia, Indonesia
Jon McCormack, Monash University, Australia
James McDermott, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Eduardo Miranda, University of Plymouth, UK
Yew Soon Ong, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Somnuk Phon-Amnuaisuk, Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman, Malaysia
Kevin Wong, Murdoch University, Australia
Thierry Artières, LIP6 - UPMC, France
Thierry Baccino, Université de Paris VIII, France
Gérard Bailly, GIPSA-lab, University of Grenoble, France
Christian Becker-Asano, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, Germany
Nadia Berthouze, University College London, UK
Ginevra Castellano, University of Birmingham, UK
Pau-Choo Julia Chung, Smile Lab, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
Jeff Cohn, University of Pittsburgh, USA
Ernesto De Luca, Fachhochschule Potsdam, Germany
Celso de Melo, University of South California, USA
Marcin Detyniecki, LIP6 - CNRS, France
Laurence Devillers, University Paris-Sorbonne, France
Jean-Marc Fellous, University of Arizona, USA
Hani Hagras, University of Essex, UK
Robert Houghton, University of Nottingham, UK
Eyke Hüllermeier, University of Marburg, Germany
Arvid Kappas, Jacobs University Bremen, Germany
Kostas Karpouzis, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
Jim Keller, University of Missouri, USA
Chin-Teng Lin, National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan
Christine Lisetti, Florida International University, USA
Radoslaw Niewiadomski, Telecom Paris Tech, France
Magalie Ochs, Telecom Paris Tech, France
Jean-François Omhover, Arts Et Metiers ParisTech, France
Joseph Orero, Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology, Kenya
Andrew Ortony, Northwestern University, USA
Helen Pain, University of Edinburgh, UK
Catherine Pelachaud, Telecom Paris Tech, France
Isabella Poggi, University Roma Tre, Italy
Thierry Pun, University of Geneva, Switzerland
Rainer Reisenzein, EMA University Greifswald, Germany
Peter Roelofsma, VUA University Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Nicolas Sabouret, LIMSI, France
Jean-Paul Sansonnet, LIMSI, France
Charles Tijus, University Paris VIII, France
Egon L van den Broek, University of Twente, The Netherlands
Christian Wagner, University of Nottingham, UK
Chung-Hsien Wu, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
Dongrui Wu, GE Global Research, USA
Georgios Yannakakis, IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Slawomir Zadrozny, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland